Key takeaway: You must request the EPP before close of business on the last business day before the loan's due date. Miss that window by even a few hours and the lender can legally refuse. Use the exact words "Extended Payment Plan under state law" — not "extend" or "renew," which often means rollover.
- What an EPP actually is
- EPP requirements by state — 2026 chart
- How to request an EPP — timing is everything
- What lenders can and cannot charge
- CFSA Best Practices — leverage even without a state law
- If the lender refuses or stalls
- States with no EPP requirement — your alternatives
- Frequently asked questions
What an EPP Actually Is
An Extended Payment Plan turns a single balloon payment into three or four smaller installments timed to your paydays — typically over 60 to 90 days — at no extra interest or fees. You pay only what you already owed (principal plus the original finance charge), just spread out.
That's the key difference from a rollover. A rollover pushes the due date two weeks in exchange for another full fee. An EPP is designed to help you actually pay the loan off without digging a deeper hole.
💡 EPP usage rates range from less than 1% in Florida to 13.4% in Washington State — despite state laws requiring them to be offered. The CFPB has found that lenders promote higher-cost rollovers over EPPs because rollovers generate another fee while an EPP does not. You often have to push specifically for this.
EPP Requirements by State — 2026 Chart
17 states require payday lenders to offer extended payment plans by law. Note: New Mexico, Ohio, and Virginia have reformed their payday laws so all loans must be structured as installment products from the outset — no separate EPP to request because the installment structure is built in.
| State | Installments | Fee Allowed | Key Rules |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Not specified | No | Available after missed payment |
| Alaska | Not specified | 5% of loan amount | Plans can run up to 180 days |
| California | Varies | No | Limited availability in practice |
| Delaware | No cap | No | Minimum 90-day plan |
| Florida | Not specified | No | Borrower must complete credit counseling |
| Idaho | 4 or more | No | Minimum 2-month term; once per year |
| Illinois | Not specified | No | Must be offered after 35 days without repayment; minimum 55-day term |
| Indiana | 4 or more | No | Required after 2 rollovers; minimum 60-day term |
| Louisiana | 4 or more | No | Minimum 2-month term; once per year |
| Michigan | 3 installments | ~$20 fee allowed | Tied to 3 paycheck cycle |
| Nevada | Not specified | No | 90-day loan term |
| Oklahoma | 4 installments | 10% of loan or $15 max | Required after 2 consecutive rollovers |
| South Carolina | 4 or more | No | Minimum 2-month term; once per year |
| Utah | 4 or more | No | Minimum 2-month term; once per year |
| Washington | Not specified | $25 missed-payment fee | 3 months (loans ≤$400); 6 months (loans >$400); request by original due date |
| Wisconsin | 4 installments | No | Once per year |
| Wyoming | 4 or more | No | Minimum 2-month term; once per year |
⚠️ Always verify with your state banking regulator before relying on these figures — laws change, and individual lender practices within the same state can vary.
How to Request an EPP — Timing Is Everything
⚠️ The "last business day" deadline: In most mandatory-EPP states, you must request it before close of business on the last business day before the loan's due date. If your loan is due Friday, the request generally needs to be in by Thursday before the office closes (often 5–6 p.m. local time). This is the single most common reason borrowers lose their EPP right.
Call or visit the lender as soon as you know you can't pay in full — ideally several days early. Use these exact words:
Ask them to confirm the request in writing the same day. Sign the amendment or new payment schedule they provide and keep a copy. Once you're on the plan and making scheduled payments, the lender generally cannot start collection activity or report the account as past due.
What Lenders Can and Cannot Charge
In most mandatory-EPP states, the lender cannot add new interest or fees. Michigan allows ~$20, Oklahoma allows 10% of the loan amount (up to $15), and Alaska charges 5%. These are the three documented exceptions. If a lender in any other state tries to charge a "plan fee" or "administrative fee," ask them to cite the specific statute and get the answer in writing.
CFSA Best Practices — Leverage Even Without a State Law
The Community Financial Services Association of America (CFSA) requires member companies to offer an EPP at least once every 12 months at no extra cost, provided state law does not prohibit it. The typical CFSA plan: request by close of business on the last business day before the due date, four equal payments timed to paydays, no extra charge, no collection activity while current on the plan.
Look for the CFSA member seal on the storefront or website. If the lender is a member, ask for the plan under their Best Practices commitment and request written confirmation. It's not as strong as a state statute, but many members will honor it when pressed.
If the Lender Refuses or Stalls
- Ask them to put the denial in writing and cite the specific reason
- Contact your state banking regulator or attorney general's consumer protection division the same day
- File a complaint with the CFPB at consumerfinance.gov/complaint
- Keep every email, letter, and call note
States With No EPP Requirement — Your Alternatives
- Negotiate a short voluntary payment plan directly with the lender
- Revoke ACH authorization so they cannot keep pulling money automatically — see our guide on stopping withdrawals
- Explore settlement once the account is delinquent — see the debt settlement guide
- Contact an NFCC nonprofit credit counselor for help negotiating or budgeting
Frequently Asked Questions
How many times can I use an EPP?
Most states and CFSA guidelines limit it to once every 12 months per lender.
What if I already missed the due date?
In most states the EPP option is lost once the loan is past due. Act before the deadline — this is the most common mistake borrowers make.
Is an EPP available for online payday loans?
Rules vary. Some online lenders operate under tribal authority and may claim state EPP laws don't apply. See our tribal loans guide for the legal picture.
What if the lender says they don't offer EPPs?
Ask whether they are a CFSA member. If you are in a mandatory state, cite the state requirement and ask for the denial in writing.
Can I pay off the EPP early?
Yes, in virtually every version. There is no prepayment penalty.
- Stop ACH Withdrawals — cut off automatic access to your bank account
- Payday Loan Laws by State — check whether your loan is even legal
- How to Settle Debt Yourself — negotiate once the account is delinquent
- Are Tribal Loans Legal? — if your lender claims state EPP laws don't apply